At Home Learning Resources

We know it is a difficult time for all right now - that's why staff at Leys will continue to do all we can to support your child's learning, even at home.

There are many website links below to support your child's learning, however if you are looking for a FREE quick and easy, ready made, daily routine which covers many curriculum areas, follow this link to the Twinkl Home Learning Hub.

If you’re hunkered down with your family, trying to avoid the coronavirus, but trying to keep your children learning, we found a lot of educational online resources out there, some are pretty cool– and may just grab their attention more than a video game.

General

National Geographic Kids - https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/

The Kids Should See This - https://thekidshouldseethis.com (A wide range of cool educational videos)

Crash Course Kids - https://m.youtube.com/user/crashcoursekids (YouTube videos on many subjects)

Paw Print Badges - https://pawprintbadges.co.uk (Free challenge packs and other downloads.  Many activities can be completed indoors.  Badges cost but are optional)

Nature Detectives - https://naturedetectives.woodlandtrust.org.uk/naturedetectives (A lot of these can be done in a garden, or if you can get to a remote forest location!

Oxford Owl for Home - https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home (Lots of free resources for Primary age)

Twinkl - https://www.twinkl.co.uk (printouts.  They are offering a month of free access to parents in the event of school closures)

 

Maths

Khan Academy - https://www.khanacademy.org (Especially good for maths and computing for all ages)

 

English

And a voice familiar to most of your kids, Josh Gad, the voice of Olaf in Frozen is reading books online. To catch Josh Gad reading live head to his Twitter page

The Atlantic White Shark Conservancy launched an online shark story hour” where a staff member reads a new shark-themed book each day. https://www.facebook.com/atlanticwhiteshark/videos/865520747298160/

On the Hamilton Trust Website

Try these free Year 3 blocks:

Try these free Year 4 blocks:

Try these free Year 5 blocks:

  • Fantasy: Goth Girl featuring Chris Riddell's captivating Goth Girl books.
  • Reference Texts featuring remarkable facts, common beliefs and reference texts to introduce ideas about reliability of different text types.

Try these free Year 6 materials:

 

Science

Crest Awards - https//www.crestawards.org (Science awards you can complete from home)

 

Geography

Geography Games - https://wwwworld-geography-games.com/world.html (Geography Gaming!)

 

French

Duolingo - https://www.duolingo.com

 

Art

Author Mo Willems is teaching kids how to draw and doodle.  https://www.kennedy-center.org/education/mo-willems/

 Tinkercad - https://www.tinkercad.com

The Artful Parent - https://www.facebook.com/artfulparent (Good, free art activities)

 

Also look at the other pages on the 'Children's' tab :-)